Changing Focus

This week I have shifted my focus from traditional fine art to comics and cartooning. I realize cartooning and comics is something that has always been with me even before I decided to take my first painting classes at the School of the Art Institute in Chicago when I was 12 years old.  At this stage of my life comics feel more natural for me to make than pieces of fine art.

dsc_0258For me, making fine art pieces feels more spontaneous and doesn’t show up in a way that is easy to replicate.  For example; after the recent elections I painted a map of the United States. It was a painting with a textured background. It  was made to show how battered and disappointed  I felt after the elections were over. I imagined my painting represented how a lot of Americans felt after the election. I was so happy with that painting! I wanted to do another painting just like that one.  I followed the same process prepping my canvas and mixing paint, but the same emotion and energy wasn’t there.  I felt that way about my other fine art pieces too.  The emotion or the feeling for that piece was just for that piece.  I decided I like making something I can come back to and put in different scenarios, and I know I can do that more readily with comics.

Comics give me the chance to tell an evolving story.  I can draw a simple comic with a full range of emotion. I can draw myself happy, sad, doubtful, and the list goes on. The worlds I create can continue indefinitely.  I can draw my characters on the moon or in a cave. I feel more flexibility in the comics medium than I do for traditional fine arts right now.  

Does that mean I am going to put up my brushes? Does that mean that I won’t buy anymore canvases or go to hoity toity  art shows? The answer is no! I still value all my fine art training and painting skills because I still need them to make comics.  It does mean my approach to my artwork and the way I deliver my message will be different.  I look forward to posting more of my comic art as I go into the new year. 

different faces and styles.jpg

Edited by Brother Gator

Leave a Reply

